PDA

View Full Version : Fix for crash at startup


sVr il patriota
20th August 2004, 00:40
... the only problem is, he is working not always BUT i finally got CSS working and playable. If you want, you can try:

f.e. your steaminstall is in c:\steam

==========================
1. Exit Steam

2. Delete c:\steam\steamapps\[email protected]\counter-strike source beta

3. Start Steam

4. Run CSS => memory error. OK, so far, so fine.

5. Exit Steam and wait until its fully unloaded. (give them some seconds and make sure steam.exe ist not running (verify with taskmgr))

6. COPY (not rename!) c:\steam\servers\serverbrowser.dll to c:\steam\servers\serverbrowser.org (for backup purposes)

7. COPY c:\steam\steamapps\[email protected]\counter-strike source beta\bin\ServerBrowser.dll to c:\steam\servers\serverbrowser.dll and OVERWRITE it

8. Make a new Directory(Folder) called "Servers" in c:\steam\steamapps\[email protected]\counter-strike source beta\

9. COPY c:\steam\steamapps\[email protected]\counter-strike source beta\bin\ServerBrowser.dll to c:\steam\steamapps\[email protected]\counter-strike source beta\Servers\ServerBrowser.dll

10. Start Steam

11. Start CSS hopefully without memory error.
==========================

The error is caused by serverbrowsers.dll thats almost sure. There is some strange behaviour when trying the different DLLs that (i think) caused by windows and that the old dll is still in memory. Cause auf that you should overwrite the old file and not renamed. In my tests I was able to rename a locked file, but not to delete ist.
You can try to restart the PC after the copy action, too.
All Serverbrowsers.dll should be the same version.


Update 1:
Please remember that there is sometimes a strange behaviour with the windows file cache and/or the loaded dlls in memory.

Cause of that, OVERWRITE ..\steam\servers\serverbrowser.dll and do NOT rename the file. (Make a backup first)

One again: you must copy the original ..\steam\steamapps\[email protected]\counter-strike source beta\bin\ServerBrowser.dll

to:
..\steam\Servers\ServerBrowser.dll
AND
..\steam\steamapps\[email protected]\counter-strike source beta\Servers\ServerBrowser.dll

Then restart you PC. Thats the safest method I figured out. I'm sorry for all those, where the fix doesn't work.



Update2:


quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Originally posted by giskard
For those still having crashes to desktop

Add this to your launch properties... tell me what happens

-console

I notced that when I don't have console enabled, the game crashes. Also, if I hit the ` key... that is the console key... and it closes console.. my game crashes to desktop

Appears that I need to have console open to be able to play the game.

Just try the -console command.... after doing the fix stated in this thread.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------



Yes, he is right. Start with -console in the launch options and DONT CLOSE the console while playing.

Good Luck!
For me it worked!

BR Robert

funziona , l'ho provato io stesso su un pc :)

iG^Case~sm~
20th August 2004, 00:50
*

nn kiudete la console nel menù iniziale

EwooX
20th August 2004, 00:51
http://img27.exs.cx/img27/5838/WTF5.jpg

sVr il patriota
20th August 2004, 01:37
pensavo che fosse utile :|

H3rN4n
20th August 2004, 03:31
2. Delete c:\steam\steamapps\[email protected]\counter-strike source beta

7. COPY c:\steam\steamapps\[email protected]\counter-strike source beta\bin\ServerBrowser.dll to c:\steam\servers\serverbrowser.dll and OVERWRITE it

se io cancello la cartella come faccio poi a prendere il file? :mumble:

KS|Mojo
20th August 2004, 09:06
se io cancello la cartella come faccio poi a prendere il file? :mumble:

4. Run CSS => memory error. OK, so far, so fine.

I punti vanno letti tutti.

raven
20th August 2004, 14:43
raga non riesco a farlo andare, ho provato a fare cosi ma non funziona, dopo che cancello il gioco come faccio a cambiare i file nella cartella? :dunno:

sVr il patriota
20th August 2004, 14:53
taduco in italiano va :rolleyes:

1.Esci da Steam
2.Elimina la cartella c:\steam\steamapps\[email protected]\counter-strike source beta
3.Fai partire Steam
4.Lancia CS:S e ritornerai al desketop a causa dell'errore di memoria ,ok , è normale :)
5.Esci da steam e aspetta 5 secondi che sparisca del tutto anche dal taskmanager(CTRL+ALT+CANC processi)
6.Copia ( non rinomina! ) C:\steam\steamapps\[email protected]\counter-strike source beta\bin\ServerBrowser.dll nella stessa cartella e rinominalo in ServerBrowser.org ( così abbiamo fatto un backup , non si sa mai)
7.Copia C:\steam\steamapps\[email protected]\counter-strike source beta\bin\ServerBrowser.dll in c:\steam\servers\serverbrowser.dll e sovrascrivilo
8.Crea una nuova cartella chiamata "Servers" in c:\steam\steamapps\[email protected]\counter-strike source beta
9. Copia c:\steam\steamapps\[email protected]\counter-strike source beta\bin\ServerBrowser.dll to c:\steam\steamapps\[email protected]\counter-strike source beta\Servers\ServerBrowser.dll
10.Lancia Steam
11.Lancia CS:S senza crash :)

Poi sul desketop fate propietà sull'icona di CS:S e alla fine di "destinazione" aggiungete " -console" .
In game non chiudete la console senò crasha :)

Podbot.02
20th August 2004, 14:56
si ma che serve eliminarlo allora? qualcosa mi sfugge..

DyingSweetly
20th August 2004, 14:57
Edit: Funziona benissimo e si riesce ad ovviare il problema di tenere aperto anche cs 1.6 sotto

SmoR
20th August 2004, 15:18
Ragazzi, che voi ne sappiate, questa soluzione riesce ad ovviare anche la fastidiosa soluzione di tenere aperto cs 1.6 e cs s?
si, ti si apre css con la console, poi per giocare devi fare connect <ip address>

SmoR
20th August 2004, 15:18
http://img27.exs.cx/img27/5838/WTF5.jpg
asd :asd:

sVr il patriota
20th August 2004, 20:05
Edit: Funziona benissimo e si riesce ad ovviare il problema di tenere aperto anche cs 1.6 sotto


se non ci fossi io :rolleyes:




:asd:

Healman
2nd September 2004, 20:10
A me Non funziona, crasha nei primi 20 secondi di game -.-

Luxxa
2nd September 2004, 20:58
peccaso ti dice che ti mancano files appena avvii css?

Healman
2nd September 2004, 21:24
Si, pensavo fosse normale...